339 Followers
265 Following
LindaHilton

Linda Hilton

Reader, Writer, Merciless Reviewer and Incurable Romantic

Currently reading

Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America
Nancy MacLean
Progress: 134/574 pages
Twilight of the Elites: America After Meritocracy
Christopher L. Hayes
Progress: 17/304 pages
Anatomy of Criticism: Four Essays
Northrop Frye
Strangers in Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right
Arlie Russell Hochschild
Progress: 96/454 pages
Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America
Ibram X. Kendi
Progress: 22/750 pages
All the President's Men
Carl Bernstein, Bob Woodward
Progress: 73/383 pages
Women's Gothic and Romantic Fiction: A Reference Guide (American Popular Culture)
Kay Mussell
Progress: 17/157 pages
The Looking-Glass Portrait
Linda Hilton
Really Neat Rocks: A casual introduction to the rocks & gems of Arizona and the lapidary arts
Linda Hilton
Progress: 61/61 pages
Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith
Jon Krakauer

Lord Johnnie (first review)

Lord Johnnie - Leslie Turner White

One of the very first historical "romances" I ever read, and still one of my very favorites. A classic swashbuckler in the tradition of Alexandre Dumas and Rafael Sabatini Lord Johnnie recounts the adventures of a handsome London outlaw, variously calling himself "Johnnie the Rogue" or "Lord Johnnie," in the 1760s. Scheduled to hang for his crimes, he is thus a convenient short-term spouse for the lovely Lady Leanna Somerset, who hopes her debts will die along with him at Tyburn. To her dismay, Johnnie is deftly rescued and set on a course of reluctant heroism and redemption. . . and romance.